Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Details of Barguna District

Background, Geographic Area and Location: The coastal zila of Barguna was previously a sub-division of Patuakahali zila which was upgraded into a zila on the 28th February, 1984. It is bounded on the north by Barisal and Patuakhali zilas, on the east by Patuakhali zila, on the south by the Bay of Bengal and on the west by Pirojpur and Khulna zilas. It lies between 21º 48′ and 22º 29′ north latitutes and between 89º 52′ and 90º 22′ east longitudes. The total area of the zila is 1,831.31 sq. km. (707.07 sq. miles) of which 399.74 sq. km. is reverine and 97.18 sq. km. is under forest.

Temperature and Rainfall: Annual average temperature -maximum 33.3°C, minimum 12.1°C and rainfall 2506 mm.

Noted Rivers: Payra, BISHKHALI and Baleshwar.

Administration: Barguna Thana was established at the end of the eighteenth century. It was elevated to a sub-division in 1969 and the sub-division was turned into a zila in 1984. The zila consists of 5 upazilas, 42 unions, 257 mauzas, 560 villages, 4 paurashavas, 36 wards and 51 mahallas. The upazilas are BARGUNA SADAR, AMTALI, PATHARGHATA, BETAGI and BAMNA.

Archaeological Heritage and Relics: Bibichini Mosque at Betagi and the Buddhist temple and Buddhist Academy at Taltali.

Main Crops: Paddy and pulse.

Main Fruits: Mango, jackfruit, banana, papaya.

Traditional transport: Country boat.