Thursday, March 14, 2013

Laxmipur District

Map Courtesy: Local Governments Engineering Department (LGED) Bangladesh

Basic Information

Laxmipur District (Chittagong division) with an area of 1455.96 sq km, is bounded by chandpur district on the north, bhola and noakhali districts upazilas on the south, Noakhali district on the east, barisal and Bhola districts and the meghna and on the west. Maximum temperature 34.3 oC, minimum 14.4 oC; annual rainfall 3302 mm. Main rivers are the Meghna, dakatia, Katakhali, Rahmatkhali and Bhulua.

Laxmipur At a Glance

Area: 1455.96 Km2
Upazila Road: 379.27 Km
Union Road: 518.78 Km
Village Road: 1350.49 Km VA
2385.60 Km VB
Population: 15,55,000
Density: 1013 per Km2
Literacy: 62.26 %
Upazilas: 5
Union: 55
Pourashavas: 4
Primary Schools: 715
High Schools: 166
Colleges: 20


Komol Nogor
Laxmipur Sadar