Sunday, March 17, 2013

Narayanganj District

Map Courtesy: Local Governments Engineering Department (LGED) Bangladesh

Basic Information

Narayanganj District (Dhaka division) with an area of 759.57 sq km, is bounded by narsingdi and gazipur districts on the north, munshiganj districts on the south, brahmanbaria and comilla districts on the east, dhaka districts on the west. Average maximum temperature 36 oC, minimum 12.7 oC; annual total temperature 2376 mm. Physically the zila is characterised by alluvial formations caused by several rivers such as, shitalakshya, meghna, old brahmaputra, buriganga, balu and dhaleshwari.

Narayanganj At a Glance

Area: 759.57 Km2
Upazila Road: 314.42 Km
Union Road: 187.32 Km
Village Road: 800.39 Km VA
1128.99 Km VB
Population: 28,20,757
Density: 2863 per Km2
Upazilas: 5
Union: 44
Pourashavas: 7
Primary Schools: 459
High Schools: 126
Colleges: 20


Narayanganj Sadar