Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Details of Chittagong District

Background, Geographic Area and Location: Chittagong, the gateway to Bangladesh has a long tradition of being the most important centre of trade and commerce. The zila is bounded on the north by Tripura State of India, on the east by Khagrachhari, Rangamati and Bandarban zilas, on the south by Cox’s Bazar zila and on the west by the Bay of Bengal and Feni and Noakhali zilas.The total area of the zila is 5282.92 sq. km. (2039.00 sq. miles) of which 1700 sq. km. (456.37 sq. miles) including coastal area is under forest. The zila lies between 21º 54' and 22º 59' north latitude and between 91º 17' and 92º 13' east longitude. Chittagong Zila is quite different from other zilas of of the country for its unique natural beauty characterised by hills, rivers, sea, forests and valleys.

Temperature and Rainfall: Annual average temperature- maximum 32.5°C, minimum 13.5°C and rainfall 2687 mm.

The main seaport of Bangladesh is located at the estuary of the Karnafuli River. Chittagong is also called the commercial capital of Bangladesh. Interesting places of the city include Batali Hill (87.5 m in height), War Cemetery, Patenga Sea Beach, FOY'S LAKE, etc. The first Export Processing Zone (1983) of Bangladesh is situated here. Chittagong Municipal Committee was established in 1860. At present, it has been turned into Chittagong City Corporation.

Administration: Chittagong zila was established in 1666 including three hill zilas. The zila of Chittagong Hill Tracts was established in 1860 with the hill region of the zila. Later, Chittagong zila was further divided into Chittagong and Cox's Bazar zilas. The zila consists of 26 Upazilas/Thana, 194 unions, 890 mauzas, 1267 villages, 1 City Corporation, 46 City Wards, 237 City Mahalla, 10 paurashavas, 90 wards and 199 mahallas. The upazilas are ANOWARA, BANSHKHALI, BOALKHALI, CHANDANAISH, FATIKCHHARI, HATHAZARI, LOHAGARA, MIRSHARAI, PATIYA, RANGUNIA, RAOZAN, SANDWIP, SATKANIA and SITAKUNDA. The thanas are CHANDGAON, CHITTAGONG PORT , DOUBLE MOORING, KOTWALI, PAHARTALI , PANCHLAISH, BAKALIA , BAYEJID BOSTAMI, PATENGA, HALISHAHAR, KARNAFULI and KHULSHI.

Archaeological Heritage and Relics: Bronze statues (8th and 9th centuries, in Anwara Upazila), Fakira Mosque (Hathazari), Musa Khan Mosque (1658), Kura Katni Mosque (1806), Kala Mosque (16th century), Chhuti Khan Mosque (Mirsharai), Kadam Mobarak Mosque (1719), Andar Killah Mosque, Wali Khan Mosque (1790), Badar Awlia Dargah, Bakshi Hamid Mosque of Banshkhali (1568), Chittagong Court Building (1893), Collegiate School, Ethnological Museum (1974).

Historical Events: Chittagong had been a sea port since the ancient time. The Arab traders had business transactions with this port since 9th century AD. Chittagong region was under the kingdom of Arakan during sixth and seventh centuries. Before the Muslim rule Chittagong had been either under the control of the Arakans or under the kings of Burma. Sultan Fakruddin Mubarak Shah of Sonargaon conquered Chittagong in 1340. After the defeat of Sultan Giasuddin Mahmud Shah in the hands of Sher Shah in 1538, the Arakanise again captured Chittagong. From this time onward until its conquest by the Mughals this region was under the control of the Portuguese and the Magh pirates. The Mughal Commandar Bujurg Umed Khan expelled the Portuguese from the area in 1666 and established Mughal rule there. The Mughals renamed Chittagong as Islamabad.
On 18th April 1930, the revolutionaries looted the Chittagong armoury under the leadership of Mastarda SURYA SEN. During this time the leaders of the women revolutionaries were PRITILATA WADDEDAR, Bina Das, Lila Ray, Kalpana Dutta etc. The Declaration of Independence of Bangladesh was announced from SWADHIN BANGLA BETAR KENDRA located at Kalurghat.

Marks of the War of Liberation Mass graves and mass killing sites: Foy's Lake, Lalkhan Bazar, hilly area adjacent to Firoz Shah Colony, Kattoli Beach, CRB area, hills on the east of Sher Shah Colony, Patenga Air Port, hills around Nasirabad Residential Area and many other places.

Main Crops: Paddy, betelleaf, potato, corn, turmeric, tea, peanut, mustard, patol (heap), brinjal, ginger, cucumber and vegetables.

Main Fruits: Mango, jackfruit, guava, coconut, betel nut, palm, litchi, banana, papaya, watermelon and lemon.

Traditional Transport: Palanquin, horse carriage and bullock cart.