Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Details of Dinajpur District

Background, Geographic Area and Location: The area now constituting Dinajpur zila became a subdivision of Dinajpur zila in 1860. It was up-graded to a zila in 1984. There are different views about the origin of the zila name. It is generally believed that Raja Ganesh, the chiefstain of North Bengal, became the king of Gaur in the earlly part of 15th Century A.D. and assumed the title of Danujamardanadeva. Before ascending the throne he used to rule this area from the present zila headquartters, in consequencece of which the township was named as Danujpur. Probably the area was renamed as Dinajpur by rthe East India Company when it became a zila in 1786. The zila is bounded on the north by Panchagarh and Thakurgaon zilas, on the south by Gaibandha and Joypurhat zilas and India, and on the west by Thakurgaon zila and India. The total area of the zila is 3444.30 (1329.85 sq. miles) of which 78.87 sq. km (30.45 sq. miles) is under forest. It lies between 25º 10' and 26º 04' north latitudes and between 88º 23' and 89º 18' east longitudes.

Annual Average Temperature: Maximum 33.5°C and lowest 10.5°C; annual rainfall 2536 mm.

Main Rivers: DHEPA, PUNARBHABA, Kanchan and ATRAI.

Map of Dinajpur District

Administration: Dinajpur zila was established in 1786. Its previous name was Ghoraghat zila. Various parts of the zilas were included in Purnia, Rangpur and Rajshahi zilas at different times during 1833 to 1870. Thakurgaon and Panchagarh Sub-divisions of this zila were turned into independent zilas in 1984. The zila consists of 13 upazilas, 101 unions, 1926 mauzas, 2131 villages, 8 Paurashavas, 75 wards and 246 Mahallas. The Upazilas are BIRAMPUR, BIRGANJ, BIRAL, BOCHAGANJ, CHIRIRBANDAR, FULBARI, GHORAGHAT, HAKIMPUR, KAHAROLE, KHANSAMA, DINAJPUR SADAR, NAWABGANJ, PARBATIPUR.

Archaeological Heritage and Relics: KANTANAGAR TEMPLE, Rajbari, Dinajpur Museum, RAMSAGAR tank and the tombs of Chehel Gazi and Gora Shahid, Sitar Kuthuri, Habra Zamindar Bari, Gour Gabindha, Baraduari, Shingha Darwaza Palace, NAYABAD MOSQUE, Aowkar Mosque.

Historical Events: Dinajpur was once a part of the ancient state of Pundrabardhwan. The British administrative control in Dinajpur was established in 1793. At the time of Partition of Bengal in 1947, part of greater Dinajpur zila was included in West Bengal and it was named West Dinajpur. People of the zila took part in the Tebhaga Movement and also had significant contribution in the War of Liberation.

Marks of War of Liberation: Mass killing site 4, mass grave 7.

Ethnic Nationals: The Santal and Oraon.

Main Agricultural Crops: Paddy, wheat, sugarcane, jute, potato, vegetables, onion, garlic and oil seed. Extinct and nearly extinct crops are Aush and katari variety of paddy.

Main Crops: Mango, banana, jackfruit, litchi, blackberry, coconut.

Main Fruits: Mango, banana, jackfruit, lichi, blackberry, coconut.

Traditional Transport: Palanquin, boat, bullock cart, horse carriage. These means of transport are either extinct or nearly extinct.

Mineral Resources: Coal mine at Barapukuria and hard rock mine at Madhyapara.

Main Export Items: Paddy, rice, wheat, sugarcane, mango, lichi, jackfruit and molasses.