Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Details of Bogra District

Background, Geographic Area and Location: The greater Bogra, the legendary of glorious historical background with three sub-divisions became a zila in 1821. Eventually, the sub-divisions were made separate zilas in the 1980s. The present Bogra zila was carved out from Bogra sadar sub-division in 1984. It is generally believed that the zila was named after the name of Sultan Mohammad Nasiruddin Bughra Khan who was an independent ruler of Bengal during 1279 – 1282 A.D. Bogra Zila is bounded on the north by Gaibandha and Joypurhat zilas, on the east by Jamalpur and Sirajganj zilas, on the south by Sirajganj and Natore Zilas, and on the West by Naogaon and Joypurhat zilas. It lies between 24° 32' and 25° 07' north latitudes and between 88° 58' and 88° 95' east longitudes. The total area of the zila is 2898.68 sq km.

Annual Average Temperature and Rainfall: Maximum 34.6°C, minimum 11.9°C and rainfall 1610 mm.

Main Rivers: KARATOYA, NAGAR, Bangali, ICHAMATI.

Notable Beels: Betgari, Kaigari, Subeel, Nuruler Beel, Poradaha Beel, Keshpathar, Kalidaha, Padma, Sattarail, Garai, Arulia Demradaha, Sara, Gobarchapa, Mahichbaran, Ziadaha, Ramchandrapur, Kokira, Bahuar Beel, Kachiar Beel. Adamdighi, Sangshar, Badla, Sil Kawrer Dighi, Shahar Dighi, Kuldighi, Khadash Dighi are also notable water bodies.

Bogra (Town) was founded in 1850. Bogra municipality was established in 1884. It has an area of 18.85 sq km. Bogra is known as the industrial city of the North Bengal. Constructions of the BANGABANDHU JAMUNA MULTIPURPOSE BRIDGE had enhanced all kinds of trade and commerce in Bogra. The town is famous for its cultural activities.

Administration: Bogra zila was established in 1821 consisting of 9 thanas, of which four from Rajshahi zila (Adamdighi, Bogra, Sherpur, Nawkhila), 3 from Dinajpur zila (Lalbazar, Badalgachhi, Khetlal), and two from Rangpur zila (Gobindaganj, Dewanganj). In 1983 Bogra zila was divided into two zilas (Bogra and Joypurhat). Bogra zila consists of 12 upazilas, 108 unions, 1759 mauzas, 2695 villages, 11 paurashavas, 61 wards and 117 mahallas. The upazilas are ADAMDIGHI, BOGRA SADAR, DHUNAT, DUPCHANCHIA, GABTALI, KAHALOO, NANDIGRAM, SARIAKANDI, SHERPUR, SHIBGANJ, SONATOLA and SHAJAHANPUR.

Archaeological Heritage and Relics: Kherua Mosque at Sherpur, remnants of the historical MAHASTHANGARH, Bara Masjid, Mazar (tomb) of Shah Sultan Balkhi, Gokul Medh, Parshuram's Palace, Vasu Vihara.

Historical Events: Mahasthangarh (PUNDRANAGARA), located 10 km to the north of Bogra town, was the capital of PUNDRAVARDHANA. During the 4th to 8th century BC this region was ruled by various dynasties. From the middle of 8th century it went under Pala rule that continued till 12th century. Sena King VIJAYASENA conquered the region defeating the last Pala King MADANPALA. Bogra came under the Muslim rule after BAKHTIYAR KHALJI conquered Nadia. In 1281-1290 AD, Sultan Nasiruddin Bagra Khan, the second son of the emperor of Delhi Sultan GHIYASUDDIN BALBAN became the ruler of Bengal. Bogra was named after him. The anti British Fakir-Sannyasi movement spread over Bogra region since the early British rule. The leader of the fakirs MAJNU SHAH had direct encounters with the British. The Indigo Rebellion spread over Bogra in mid 19th century.

Marks of War of Liberation: Mass graves at Sonatola and Dhunat upazilas; memorial monument: Kahaloo High School compound, Adamdighi Burning Ghat and Dhunat.

Main Crops: Aush, aman, boro rice; jute, wheat, potato, mustard, pepper, vegetables, banana, sugarcane and betel leaf. Extinct and nearly extinct crops Indigo is entirely extinct; kaun (Italian millet) and red aush paddy are nearly extinct.

Main Fruits: Mango, jackfruit, guava, blackberry, custard apple, Indian palm, papaya, pineapple, banana, coconut, wood apple, litchi, wild jackfruit, date palm, tamarind, lemon betel nut.

Traditional Transport: Palanquin, Dol, horse carriage, bullock cart. These means of transport are extinct or nearly extinct.